About Cancelling a Translation Job

You may need to cancel a translation job before the translation workflow completes.

This may be because the package was not created correctly, an error occurred, or a last-minute content change required the translation to be cancelled. Or sometimes, business requirements change and the translation is no longer required.

Important: If you cancel a translation job after you have exported the translation package or provided it to a language service provider, the exported package must be discarded. You cannot upload a translation package back into Astoria after the job has been cancelled. Once a translation job is cancelled in the target language cabinets, the translation package disappears from the Astoria Export folder. The translation package objects are marked with internal Ids that must match those in the job waiting in the Astoria Export folder when the package is returned and uploaded into the Astoria Import folder.

If you cancel and then resubmit a translation job, you must export and send the new package created for that job through the translation workflow.

Note: Even though a translation job was cancelled, the target translation cabinet may still contain empty placeholder objects that were created when the translation package was created. If the same map will be used to create a translation job again later, you can leave the placeholder objects. If a new translation will not be submitted, you can remove the placeholder objects. However, you can leave them in place without consequence.

Use the Show Translations or List Translations command on the source or target language documents to determine if any in-progress translations are still showing for a document. If a document is included in an in-progress translation from a different translation job than the one you have cancelled, do not remove the placeholder object from the translation cabinet.